Returing to Earth

6 Aug

Gore sinks back to Le Monde

I am assuredly not the first person to neglect a blog.  It’s been over a year and a half since I have publicly posted anything here.  I have 37 posts in draft mode awaiting further polishing, but clearly none of them have been a huge priority since many just need less than an hour to be of publishable quality.  There were a few other big projects that came to fill my free time, but they are drawing to a close.  They are not explicitly cooking related, but encompass curiosity and scientific inquiry so I am going to give a quick overview that should be roughly contiguous with the theme of this blog.

The first is greenhouse related.  A series of fortuitous coincidences has prompted me to lead two passive solar greenhouse projects for over the past few years.  One at Lehigh University and a NSF-funded greenhouse at a school in Maryland, all in the name of interactive, tangible solar education.  But it all started because I wanted to grow a few collard greens on my back porch.  The article in Growing Magazine covers the Lehigh project quite well.

http://www.growingmagazine.com/print-7076.aspx

The second project, which is kind of way cooler, pertains to human-powered flight.  My power-to-weight ratio happened to fit the needs of a team of engineers in University of Maryland’s Aerospace department.  I joined team Gamera as a pilot in December of 2010, not knowing what to expect from such a kooky sounding project.  Now we’ve set a few world records and are still going.  I can leave knowing I’m the 4th person to ever achieve human-powered vertical lift, and currently have made it higher than any other attempt at a whopping 4 feet off the ground.  The Atlantic wrote us up, so bonus points for that.

http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2012/06/human-powered-helicopters-a-600-year-old-dream-in-sight/258785/#

Also, somehow, I am hopefully getting a PhD in materials science amidst all of this.  I promise to post more before that happens.

Update:

We flew again recently, and I set a new world record for duration, making me the first human to break the 60 second barrier for vertical flight.  More excitingly, I got to 8.6 feet in the air!  Then crashed….

My World Record Flight for Duration (Currently being verified by FAI)

My Height Record and Crash!!!

One Response to “Returing to Earth”

  1. anisebeer August 17, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Glad to see you’re back! keep them coming fella.

Leave a Reply

